Skip Nav

Dr. Tony Cahill

Hydrology
REU Director, Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering

REU research topic: hydrologic measurement technologies for a rough, vegetated terrain

tcahill@tamu.edu


Dr. Oliver Frauenfeld

Climatology
REU Co-Director, Assistant Professor, Department of Geography

REU research topic: Synoptic climatology and climate change of the tropical montane cloud forest; spatial and temporal precipitation variability

oliverf@geog.tamu.edu


Dr. Michael Bishop

Geographic Information Science and Technology
Professor, Department of Geography

REU research topic: role of topography on fundamental processes involving hydrology, landform generation and hazards using both observational and spatial modeling

michael.bishop@tamu.edu


Dr. Sarah Brooks

Meteorology
Associate Professor, Department of Atmospheric Science

REU research topic: chemical composition of aerosols influencing cloud formation and precipitation processes

sbrooks@tamu.edu


Dr. Kelly Brumbelow

Hydrology
Associate Professor, Water Resources Engineering

REU research topic: water resources planning and management, streamflow monitoring

kbrumbelow@tamu.edu


Dr. Mark Everett

Geophysics
Professor, Department of Geology and Geophysics

REU research topic: field geophysical studies on the subsurface hydraulic properties of the watershed using GPR and EM Induction

everett@geo.tamu.edu


Dr. Peter Knappett

Hydrogeology
Assistant Professor, Department of Geology and Geophysics

REU research topic: transport of dissolved and particulate contaminants in groundwater; regional groundwater budgets and processes that negatively impact water quality

knappett@tamu.edu


Dr. Gretchen Miller

Ecohydrology
Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering

REU research topic: quantifying the interactions and feedbacks between groundwater and vegetation, developing methods to measure plant and stand scale water fluxes, and using mechanistic and numerical modeling to better understand plant uptake and transpiration

gretchen.r.miller@tamu.edu


Dr. Georgianne Moore

Ecohydrology
Associate Professor, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management

REU research topic: the role of vegetation in the water cycle and how global change affects water resources; evapotranspiration patterns and processes at leaf-to-stand-to-watershed scales

gwmoore@tamu.edu


Dr. Steven Quiring

Climatology
Associate Professor, Department of Geography

REU research topic: impact of climate variability and change on the hydroclimatology of the tropical montane cloud forest using both observational and modeling approaches

squiring@tamu.edu


Dr. Anita Rapp

Atmospheric Science
Assistant Professor, Department of Atmospheric Science

REU research topic: environmental effects on clouds and precipitation, spatial and temporal variability of precipitation, remotely-sensed cloud properties and structure

arapp@tamu.edu


Dr. Brendan Roark

Biogeochemistry and paleoclimate reconstruction
Assistant Professor, Department of Geography

REU research topic: director of the Stable Isotope Geosciences Facility (SIGF) where all the stable isotopic analyses in this REU will be conducted

broark@geog.tamu.edu


Dr. Gunnar Schade

Meteorology
Associate Professor, Department of Atmospheric Sciences

REU research topic: biogeochemical trace gas fluxes between the biosphere and the atmosphere using both micro-meteorological and enclosure techniques

gws@tamu.edu


Dr. Courtney Schumacher

Meteorology
Professor, Department of Atmospheric Sciences

REU research topic: storm-climate feedbacks in Costa Rica and the role of land surface variability in convective initiation, storm organization, and diurnal cycle precipitation variability.

cschu@tamu.edu


Dr. Jason Vogel

Biogeochemistry
Assistant Professor, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management

REU research topic: soil processes/characteristics and how they affect ecosystem processes; carbon and other element cycles

jason_vogel@tamu.edu


Geosciences TAMU Logo

Aggies can change the world. Geoscientists lead the way.